When the Vestry Hall was first built, some considered it a monstrosity.
Designed by the architect Robert Masters Chart, son of the vestry (parish) clerk Edwin Chart, the Vestry Hall was officially opened on 18 May in 1887, the year of Queen Victoria's Golden Jubilee. Writing in 1895, one unhappy author referred to the building's 'extreme architectural ugliness', complaining that: 'That red brick blot has ruined for ever the picturesqueness of Mitcham of old'.
Over the coming decades, however, that 'red brick blot' beside Lower Green ('Cricket Green') would firmly establish itself as a vibrant centre of local life. Open parish meetings, temperance meetings, lectures, debates, concerts, plays, religious services, village celebrations and all manner of other social events would be held here as the Vestry Hall cemented its place in the landscape of Mitcham.
Vestry Hall is a resource for all members of the community, from voluntary groups to residents and businesses.
We have a variety of rooms that can accommodate 3 to 125 people.
Vestry Hall is situated opposite The Cricket Green, London Road, Mitcham.
The building is a short bus ride from Colliers Wood, Tooting Broadway and Morden Underground stations.
Bus routes: 118, 127, 200, 201, S1, N44.
We are five minutes' walk from Mitcham Tramlink Station, with links to Croydon and Wimbledon.
Parking near this location
There is free off-street parking at Cricket Green, Glebe Path, Whitford Gardens, Albert Road and Langdale Avenue.
There are three parking bays for Blue Badge holders just outside Vestry Hall.